I Accepted a Position with the Disney College Program

disneyland

You ever apply for a job or an internship that you have wanted to a long while and when you least expect it, you receive a letter informing you on your acceptance? This was me this past in February. For nearly two years, I have long desired to be accepted for the Disney College Program at the Disneyland Resort. According to the website, for those of you who are unfamiliar with what the Disney College Program is, the program allows “participants have the incredible opportunity to advance their strengths and interests, meet guests and cast members from around the country and take part in educational opportunities students can’t get anywhere else. This truly unique program allows participants to network with leaders, take part in personal and career development classes, and build transferable skills such as problem-solving, teamwork, guest service and effective communication.” This opportunity is a 4-6 month paid internship with multiple benefits from hands on work experience, Disney centered business and marketing classes, housing, access to the park, discounts on merchandise, and so much more. Above all that, one will get to be part of the Disney team and work at what is known to be the happiest place on earth! Especially for Disney fans, this is an incredible opportunity that not only gives hands on experience, but also opens the door for multiple opportunities for employment at Disneyland and other companies! Now you’re starting to get interested, aren’t you? Now that the introduction is out of the way, let me give a little backstory to when I accepted the position.

A Magical Childhood of Dreams & Wonders

Disney has been a large part of my life growing up. I remember when I would visit my grandparents, I would always ask my mom if I could borrow Beauty and the Best VHS movie (Yes, VHS was a thing at one point!). I would watch that movie over and over and over again and to be honest, I never got tired of it. Along with Beauty and the Beast were other memorable films such as The Lion King101 DalmatiansToy Story, and so much more that made my childhood worth it. When I was young, I had a huge fear of going to the theater (which is ironic, since I am a film critic and analyzer). With Disney films, I felt more safe and secure knowing that it was Disney. My first Disney film I saw in theaters was Tarzan IN 1999 and a few months later, I saw Toy Story 2. One of the best memories I had was winning a raffle of 4 free movie tickets. I decided to give them to siblings and parents so that we could all see Monsters Inc. and boy did we have a great time. There was something about Disney that stuck out among other films. Characters, storyline, connection, and the list can go on forever. Still to this day one of my top favorite Disney/Pixar films.

Aside from film, I had the experience to visit the park throughout my junior high years. Literally just about every Tuesday, my siblings and I would go to Disneyland for the day and we would never get tired of it. There was always so much to do from Tomorrowland to Main Street to California Adventure and any where else we could go in the park. My dad at the time really did the best he could for my brothers and I to face our fears of big and scary rides (or at least they were scary at the time) such as Indiana Jones, Space Mountain, and California Screaming. It was not easy at first but over time, I faced my fears and to this day, some of these rides are my personal favorites.  From high school to freshman year of college, I never really had the opportunity to attend Disneyland due to finances and the price rise. In sophomore year, I was able to afford my own Disney pass and went just about every single Friday with my close friends. With all the times I went, I still was never tired of going even if it was crowded, hot, cold, you name it! For me, it was my escape place from reality as I connected with my inner child. Whenever I would go, I felt I could be more of myself around my friends and family just by simply enjoying my surroundings and experience. 

The Growing Experience of the DCP Application Process

When I became a Communication Studies Major in the fall of 2014, I was told of the Disney College Program opportunity and became highly interested. After polishing up my resume and updating work experience on Linkedin, I put in my application and hoped and prayed for the best. A few weeks later, I received a phone interview and became greatly excited yet pretty nervous. The phone interview went well and I had confidence in myself in my work experience and overall personality. Unfortunately, a month later, I was denied the position. It was very hard for me to accept as I nearly cried. It’s not everyday you get the opportunity to apply to a place that made your childhood and overall life amazing and memorable. A year had passed by and I really did not think too much about applying again for the Disney College Program. The closer the deadline approached, the more I began to give it thought and then told myself, “You know what, I am applying. I have grown from the last experience, I know what to expect in the application process, and it is my last chance until I graduate. Let’s do this!” On the night of January 21st, I put in nearly two hours to apply for the position. I polished my resume up once again, rewrote my cover letter multiple times, and updated anything I could on Linkedin. After double and triple checking everything, I submitted the application and offered up my prayers to God for a chance at this opportunity. After being offered a phone interview the very next day, I had more confidence in myself and went over the possible questions they would ask. A few weeks later on February 10th, my heart raced as I waited for a phone call from the DCP recruiting team. When I picked up the phone, I did the best I could to remain calm and self myself to the recruiter. I did the best I could not to brag about myself but more about my work experience and how they were applicable to the job. To be honest, I did not feel that the interview was as good as the first one, but it did not bring my confidence down. The recruiter told me that I would be informed about the process by March so I had nothing to really worry about until then. That all changed a week later on February 18th early afternoon. I walked into the coffee shop at Biola just getting ready to work on homework and decided to check my email real quick. The first email that popped up was from the DCP…it all went uphill from here.

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 1.09.58 PMI could not believe what I just witnessed! I gave out a loud gasp to the point where everyone was looking at me. To be honest, I did not care at all due to the excitement I had in the moment. I walked out of the coffee shop and contacted my parents about the good news. At first, they thought that I was in pain due to the panting in my voice. My dad freaked out and asked “Did you crash the car?!” I laughed and said no and replied “There is no other way to tell you but I got accepted for the Disney College Program!” They both could not believe the news and were overjoyed in their excitement! Like most parents, they asked for all the details from payments to room and board and everything else. I had already taken care of most of it but besides that, they were really excited! I literally began crying on the phone knowing that I would be able to work for the company that made my childhood memorable and enjoyable. Throughout the day, I began calling friends expressing my excitement and all were either saying “That’s great! Congratulations!” or “Congrats! When can you get me in for free?” I had a lot of homework that day along with responsibilities and personal matters but to be honest, I did not care what was to come that day. Throughout the day I was just overjoyed and happy as I listened to Disney music throughout the day, specifically I’ve Got a Dream from Tangled and I Can Go the Distance from Hercules (Could not stop singing those songs for days!).

Disney really pushes on the idea to follow your dreams and for me, that dream is coming true. I never thought that I would see this day. Sure, it is an internship but it is an opening for know how many opportunities. And again, it is at Disneyland! How can one say no to that? The internship begins a week and a half after I graduate from Biola, which is only one more thing to look forward to at the end of the semester. Cannot wait to see what God has in store for this incredible opportunity!

As Mickey Mouse says, See you real soon!

dcp

 

Leave a comment